Skip to content

Welcome Baby

June 25, 2011

The sketch at Stamping 411 this week inspired me to make a baby card.   This also fits the bill for the challenge at Late Night Stampers this week which is Animal Antics.

I started with Whisper White card and added a layer of Bashful Blue.  The next layer consists of 3 pieces of Whisper White each of which is embossed with a different embossing folder – Vintage Wallpaper, Perfect Polka Dots and Square Lattice.  I stamped the elephant image from the Animal Stories stampset onto Whisper White card using Bashful Blue ink.  I cut the image using my circle scissors and then added “welcome baby” from the Short and Sweet stampset using Bashful Blue ink.  I attached the image circle to a Bashful Blue 2 3/8″ scallop circle and then added the whole piece to the card front using dimensionals.  Lastly I cut the Beautiful Wings Embosslit  from Bashful Blue card and attached the smallest butterfly to the elephants trunk using a mini glue dot.

I love this card and again the sketch has inspired another card for my Christmas in July Stamp-A-Stack.  Thanks Stamping 411.

Bye for now, Kris.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheryl M. permalink
    June 26, 2011 4:43 am

    Kris, this card is adorable! Your background of mixed textures really sets the tone of a new nursery, ready for a baby. And the elephant in blue with the butterfly on his trunk seems to say “welcome” indeed!

    Like

  2. June 26, 2011 6:41 am

    So pretty Kris. I love the simplicty of the design. I seem to have a problem with that in my work. I tend to over think my designs. TFS

    Like

  3. Karen Hines permalink
    June 26, 2011 8:32 am

    Kris, so simple, elegant and captures the innocnence of a newborn bub! As always you make the bestest (is that a word?) cards ever and I’always inspired by the creations you make. Karen 🙂

    Like

  4. June 26, 2011 10:12 am

    What a beautiful take on this weeks sketch. I love the softness of the blue and white and the monochromatic color scheme. So beautiful!

    Like

  5. June 26, 2011 11:27 am

    Love your baby card for the 411 sketch challenge! It’s so soft and sweet just like a new baby!

    Like

  6. June 27, 2011 1:23 am

    Kris — this is so soft and sweet — beautiful job! I actually saw this on Sudsol first and was so happy to see that you were playing along with Stamping 411! Keep up the great work! Blessings, Gretchen

    Like

  7. June 27, 2011 12:23 pm

    Totally adorable Kris! So soft looking. Love the little butterfly on the tip of the elephant’s trunk.

    Like

  8. June 27, 2011 1:40 pm

    I love this for a baby card, I will have to case it. All my young friends have had babies this year, and after making shower invitations for 2 of them, I have not sent cards yet after the baby arrived. Now I am inspired.

    Like

  9. June 29, 2011 3:13 am

    Wow, this is nice. Love your color choice and the embossing is pretty. Great job.

    Like

  10. June 29, 2011 11:09 am

    This is SO sweet…love the different textures for the color blocking! Thanks for playing!

    Like

  11. June 30, 2011 1:46 am

    What an adorable baby card! I love how just by using different embossing folders with the same card, you’ve created an over the top card. Love it!

    Like

  12. June 30, 2011 3:37 am

    Too cute!! Love the added butterfly in this nose!!

    Like

  13. July 1, 2011 1:09 am

    congrats on your lns win Kris, its a beautiful card and well deserved!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.