Skip to content

My First Children’s Class

April 21, 2011

I have been wanting to do a class with children for quite a while and finally decided to schedule one today.  It’s school holidays here in Queensland and I thought it a perfect time to have them make a Mother’s Day Gift.

They made a small gift box using the tutorial I found on Kerin Sylverter’s blog, a tea bag holder, the tutorial for which was shared by Bev Watt and a small 3 x 3 card to match.  I allowed 2 1/2 hours for this class but the children were very speedy and it only took them 2 hours to complete all three projects.  I think I underestimated their ability.

The box is made using Sahara Sand card and we punched the hole for the handle using the large oval punch.  “Happy Mother’s Day” from the Occasional Greetings stampset has been stamped onto Very Vanilla card using Real Red ink.  The flower is the small 5 petal one from the Island Floral Bigz die.  The children used the big shot to cut two flowers and also two sets of leaves using Sahara Sand card and the Little Leaves Sizzlit.  The  flowers were glued together with a touch of snail and then a Gold Brad was inserted into the centre.  The leaves were attached to the Very Vanilla card and then the flower attached over the top using a dimensional.  Now each of the children used their own imagination to place the flowers and the leaves and I must say each of them was very different.  A Real Red cardstock mat was added to the Very Vanilla card before attaching to the front of the box.  The children didn’t tie their ribbon until they had made the little chocolate holder and card, so that they could be placed inside.

The chocolate holder has been decorated in the same manner as the front of the box, only this time they only used one set of leaves.  They also used the Eyelet Edge Punch to decorate the top flap of the holder.  I found some Lindt excellence chocolates and the children all selected one to go inside.

The 3″ x 3″ card is made in the same manner as the box and the chocolate holder.

All the children wrote inside their cards before placing them into the box and tying the ribbon.

The children all enjoyed themselves and I must say were all great students.  I will be holding another class during the next school holidays and one of the children suggested that maybe we could make a Father’s day gift.

I think I will have to increase the level of difficulty a little for the next class.

Bye for now, Kris.

No comments yet

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.