Skip to content

Karen’s Hostess Gift

March 23, 2011

I held a workshop recently for a good customer and friend of mine (Hi Karen).  I always like to give my Hostesses something personal from me and this is what I made for her.

This is called an Undercover Book of Cards and I purchased the tutorial from LeeAnn Greff.   The basic construction of my box is done in Basic Black cardstock.  I decorated the front by taking a piece of Whisper White card and embossing the bottom section only with the Square Lattice Embossing folder.  I added a narrow strip of Basic Black card which has both edges punched with the Scallop Trim Border punch.  I also wrapped the Basic Black card with Old Olive 3/8″ Taffeta Ribbon before attaching to the Whisper White card to mask the end of the embossing.  To make the embellishments I cut Real Red card using the Floral Fusion Sizzlit.  I also punched two leaves for each embellishment using Old Olive card and the Two Step Bird Punch.  I attached the leaves behind the largest of the Real Red flowers and then attached them to a square of Whisper White card  punched using the 1 1/4″  Square punch.  Then I ran the piece through the Big Shot using the Square Lattice Embossing Folder to embed the flowers and the leaves onto the Whisper White square.  I attached these squares to Basic Black squares punched using the 1 3/8″ Square punch.   I took the two smallest flowers and using my bone folder curled them on both sides until the flowers separated.  I scrunched the flowers and then stacked them onto a small Rhinestone brad making sure that the petals were staggered.  I scrunched them again around the brad and opened them out.  I attached these little flowers to the centre of the embossed flower using mini glue dots.

This shows the inside of the box.  I have decorated the inside cover to match the front of the box without the embellishments.  I also decorated the spine and back of the book in the same manner.

The box holds 4 cards and envelopes.

The cards are made in the same manner as the front of the box, except I added a greeting from the Cute By The Inch stampset (level 2 Hostess Set).  These are stamped with Real Red ink onto Whisper White card, punched out with the 1 1/4″ Square Punch and matted with a Basic Black square punched using the 1 3/8″ Square Punch.  I used the “Thinking of You”, “For You”, “Friends” and “Eat Cake” images from the Cute by The Inch stampset.

I absolutely love the way this set has turned out.  I did have to make a few adjustments to the box dimensions to fit our Australian sized cards but it is a really simple box to make and could be used for lots of things other than cards.

If you would like to receive a gift like this then contact me and schedule a workshop and I would be happy to give you one of these or something equally gorgeous.

Bye for now, Kris.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2011 4:55 am

    Just beautiful. Lucky hostess. TFS
    http://www.cleverandcute.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Carol Carriveau permalink
    March 25, 2011 6:11 am

    WOW…fabulous and beautiful – lucky friend/customer!

    Like

  3. March 25, 2011 9:47 am

    This is stunning, Kris!! What an awesome hostess gift! TFS!

    Like

  4. March 25, 2011 2:58 pm

    So Beautiful. Lucky lucky hostess ! This creation is well deserved to be named on Kellys Blog Finds of the Day. Congratulations once again!

    Like

    • kreatinwithkris permalink
      March 25, 2011 3:07 pm

      Thanks Gwen, I appreciate your support.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.