Skip to content

Vintage Vogue

February 22, 2011

Ok, the card for today is one I completed for the sketch challenge at Just Add Ink this week.

I started with Perfect Plum and added a layer of Whisper White which has been embossed using the Square Embossing Folder.  My image panel is Whisper White which is layered onto Perfect Plum.  Both of these cardstock pieces have had the top corners rounded using the Corner Small Punch.  Underneath is a layer of Certainly Celery which has been cut using the Top Note Die.  I also cut two sets of Little Leaves from Certainly Celery card.  My flowers are from the Oh So Beautiful Set, Vintage Vogue.  I stamped the large flower and 2 small flowers using Perfect Plum ink onto Whisper White card and cut them out.  I stamped one small flower using Perfect Plum ink onto Whisper White card but stamping once onto scrap paper and then cut it out.  I added my flowers over the leaves on the image panel using mini glue dots and to finish them off added small Basic Rhinestones to the centres of the flowers.  I added a strip of Perfect Plum cardstock which has been punched along one edge with the Scallop Trim Border punch.  I have wrapped this piece with Whisper White Tafetta ribbon.  My bow is tied using a Bow Tying Stand which my son-in-law makes.  This turns out perfect bows every time.  To attach it to my ribbon I used a Rhinestone Brad.  You open the prongs of the brad as far as they will go and then pop the bow and the ribbon strip between the open prongs and then close the prongs around both the bow and the ribbon strip.  I used a mini glue dot to hold it in position.  Sometimes you have to trim the prongs a little and this can be done easily with our Paper Snips.

Here is a close up of the largest flower.  You can see here the difference between stamping the first time with your inked up image (1st generation) and stamping the second time with your inked up image (2nd generation).  So you can get shades of colour using the one ink pad.  I love the bling that is so easily acquired with the new Basic Rhinestones.

I want to thank those of you who comment on my work, it is what keeps me going, to know that you are inspired by what I do.

Bye for now, Kris.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheryl permalink
    February 22, 2011 12:40 pm

    Love your card, and your instructions for attaching the rhinestone brad to the bow! I love the look; what a clever idea; I would have butchered the poor ribbon trying to pierce it with the brad, LOL!

    Like

  2. Kathy permalink
    February 22, 2011 2:07 pm

    Kris, Your card is just beautiful -You do such a good job explaining too -I thank you so much 🙂
    Kathy

    Like

  3. February 22, 2011 6:53 pm

    Beautiful colours, great texture and lovely stamped flowers make one gorgeous card!!

    Like

  4. February 23, 2011 11:02 pm

    A really pretty card Kris…and congrats on making Kellys Blog Finds of the Day..well deserved

    Like

    • kreatinwithkris permalink
      February 24, 2011 6:36 am

      Thanks Bev, it is always an honour to be selected for Blog Finds of the day.

      Like

  5. Joni Doolin permalink
    February 25, 2011 12:40 am

    I love your bows. I am interested in ordering one of the bow tying stand. Could you send me the information on it. Joni Doolin

    Like

  6. February 27, 2011 11:58 pm

    beautiful card! I tend to stay away from cutting out flowers but in this case I may have to make an exception….thanks for sharing! Love the way you accented the focal point with just a sliver of theTop Note die, too…very nice!

    Like

  7. March 4, 2011 2:45 pm

    lovely card – I feel a CASE coming on!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.