Skip to content

Challenge Cards

July 26, 2010

I love the sketch challenge this week at Just Add Ink.  When I saw it I knew exactly what I was going to do. 

I love the stampset Bugs and Kisses but don’t use it often enough.  I stamped four of the images from the set onto Orchid Opulence, Only Orange, Yo Yo Yellow and Gable Green cardstock using versamark ink.   Then I embossed them with White embossing powder and punched the images out using the 1 3/8″ square punch.  I ran a strip of Real Red Cardstock through my crimper and attached it to my base card of Whisper White.  I attached the Gable Green and Yo Yo Yellow squares to the Real Red cardstock using mini glue dots.  The Orchid Opulence and Only Orange squares were attached to the Whisper White card using dimensionals.  I used my stamp-a-ma-jig to stamp “bugs and kisses” using Brilliant Blue ink.   I love these bright colours with this stampset.  In fact I loved this card so much I turned the sketch a little and created another card.

This card was made exactly the same way except I used a piece of Brilliant Blue cardstock to run through my crimper.  Unfortunately my photography is not what it could be today.  I took these photos this morning but by the time I got around to it, most of the sun had gone and the sky was cloudy and gray. 

As I have made two cards using the same stampset (and almost the same layout), I can enter then into the Late Night Stampers challenge this week.

Hope you are inspired to try something like this yourself.

Bye for now, Kris.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 4:44 pm

    Love these cards, nice and bright and cheery

    Like

  2. stampingelephants permalink
    July 26, 2010 8:00 pm

    Hey Kris, I love the way you have embossed the little critters. Very effective.

    Like

  3. July 27, 2010 11:30 am

    Love the white embossing on the bright coloured card. Great take on the sketch, Kris – very cute, happy cards!

    Like

  4. July 27, 2010 9:43 pm

    So cute!!

    Like

  5. July 28, 2010 12:00 am

    This is stunning! I love the embossing onto the bright, happy colours and the crimping really makes the card pop.

    Like

  6. July 28, 2010 7:16 am

    I have never thought to use the bugs like this, the cards look brilliant and I am goinf to give that a trey

    Like

  7. July 28, 2010 1:57 pm

    OMGosh, this is just too cute! Love those little bugs, and the fun colour combo 🙂

    Like

  8. July 28, 2010 6:43 pm

    Super cute Kris, I love this card.

    Like

  9. July 29, 2010 10:16 am

    These are too cute!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.