Skip to content

Happy Birthday Emma

June 17, 2010

Today is my youngest daughter’s birthday and I want to share with you the card that I made for her.  The pansies made with the butterfly punch are all over the internet so I thought that I would try and make some.  I followed several different tutorials, all you have to do is google “butterfly punch pansies” and you will have your choice of several.  I had also seen a card by on Valita’s blog which I thought was just gorgeous so I followed her video tutorial and  this is the finished card.

I started with a standard Whisper White card and following Valita’s video made the folds in the front.  I added a Mellow Moss piece of card behind it to add definition.  I used my Big Shot and Mellow Moss card to cut the leaves using the Little Leaves die.  After I attached the leaves I wrapped Mellow Moss ¼” grosgrain ribbon and added a bow.  The pansies were made by punching two butterflies for each flower using Whisper White card and the Butterfly Punch.  I used my Stampin’ Write Markers in Pale Plum, Perfect Plum and Summer Sun to colour the butterflies.  They were then spritzed with water and scrunched up.  I carefully opened each butterfly and then let them dry.  Once they were dry I layered two butterflies together with a Basic Black brad in the centre.  I attached the pansies to the card using dimensionals and mini glue dots.  The sentiment from Fun and Fast Notes was stamped onto Whisper White card using Mellow Moss ink.  I punched the greeting out with the Word Window Punch and then fed it back in so that I didn’t have any space left around the greeting.  The frame was made by punching out a Square Scallop from Pale Plum card.  I trimmed it on an angle so that only the central three scallops were left and then trimmed off the last scallop on each side to make this little rectangle.  I added it to my card using dimensionals.

I was so happy with the pansies that I based my next Technique Class around them.  If you would like to know how to make these adorable flowers then join me on the 7th August.  More details can be found on the Classes and Workshops page.

I also wanted to add a big “Thank You” to all those talented ladies in blogland who so generously share their knowledge in tutorials for all of us to enjoy and recreate.

Bye for now,  Kris.

One Comment leave one →
  1. stampingelephants permalink
    June 17, 2010 1:42 pm

    Kris, this is just adorably gorgeous.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.