Skip to content

A Birthday Birdie

April 19, 2010

I decided to play along with the Just Add Ink colour challenge this week.  I love Chocolate Chip/Kiwi Kiss but hadn’t thought to use these colours with Barely Banana, however, I think they work great together.

I started with a base of Kiwi Kiss card  and then decided to use my Big Shot and Top Note Die to create the focal piece.  The first layer is Chocolate Chip and the second  layer is Barely Banana card with Kiwi Kiss Designer Series Paper and also a Chocolate Chip strip of card with one edge punched with the Scallop Edge Punch.   This layer was trimmed to fit on top of the Chocolate Chip layer.  I wrapped this piece with Kiwi Kiss/Very Vanilla Satin Ribbon before attaching to the card base.  I tied the bow separately and attached it with a mini glue dot (these are just fantastic).  I used my new Two Step Bird Punch to create the focal image at the top, using Kiwi Kiss cardstock for the branch, Kiwi Kiss DSP for the wing and Chocolate Chip card for the body.   I stamped my greeting (from Sincere Salutations) onto Barely Banana card using Chocolate Chip ink and punched it out with the Scallop Oval.  I layered this onto a Wide Oval punched out of Chocolate Chip card. 

I really liked the way this has come together.  What do you think?

Bye for now, Kris.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 8:05 pm

    I love how you have used layering with the top note die….very effective

    Like

  2. stampingelephants permalink
    April 19, 2010 8:31 pm

    Wow Kris, you’ve made me a very early birthday card haven’t you. heee hee. LOL. Very nice indeed.

    Like

  3. April 19, 2010 8:56 pm

    Such a tweet card. I love the Kiwi Kiss Satin Ribbon and you’ve made a perfect bow!

    Like

  4. Donna Zammit permalink
    April 19, 2010 9:15 pm

    I agree Kris these colours do go so well together. Your card is ace. I’m in love with the top note too! TFS. Cheers Donna Zammit

    Like

  5. April 19, 2010 10:02 pm

    Very creative and pretty!!

    Like

  6. April 19, 2010 10:13 pm

    Hi Kris, I love this card. All the elements work perfectly together. Thanks for playing.

    Like

  7. April 20, 2010 1:47 pm

    Cute cute card!! LOVE the green and Navy!!

    Like

  8. April 20, 2010 1:49 pm

    Sorry.. it looks Navy on my screen… Navy would go well with the Kiwi… But really cute card!!

    Like

  9. April 20, 2010 3:27 pm

    Very clever use of the top note die.

    Like

  10. April 20, 2010 4:04 pm

    This is so lovely, Kris! I like how you’ve layered the Top Note. Thanks for playing!

    Like

  11. April 20, 2010 4:06 pm

    Very cute! I like it a lot 🙂

    Like

  12. April 21, 2010 11:49 pm

    Yep – I like it too. Love how you have incorporated the DSP. Chantell

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.